Here are the rules on “Open Burning” in New York State
New York State issues an annual “BURN BAN” every spring from March 15 through May 15 due to the increased risk of wild fires. THERE IS TO BE NO BURNING AT ALL DURING THIS TIME.
After May 15, you ARE allowed to burn the following:
Charcoal or clean, untreated, or unpainted wood ONLY. Burning of trash and leaf piles is prohibited statewide in all cases
Campfires less than 3 feet in height and 4 feet in length, width, or diameter
Small cooking fires
Ceremonial or celebratory bonfires
NOTE: Fires cannot be left unattended and must be fully extinguished. As a courtesy, please call Fire Chief Jerry Emmons to let him know when you plan to burn. He can be reached at (607) 761-1218.
SPECIAL NOTE: If the smoke from your fire becomes bothersome to your neighbors, they have every right to call the Broome County Sheriff’s Dept at 778-1911 or NYSDEC at 1-800-847-7332 to complain. If the Sheriff’s Dept. or DEC responds, you may be hit with a hefty fine, so be sure to use extreme caution not to aggravate your neighbors!
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday:
7:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
NOTE: Call before stopping in to make sure the code enforcement officer is in.
Building Permits are issued by appointment only during the above hours. Building inspections are done by appointment only.
Nick: (607) 772-0357, ext. 012
Zack: (607) 772-0357, ext. 014